Well, what a truly delightful breakfast we experienced at newly opened cafe/restaurant ‘Jessy’s’ in Wokingham. I’ve been itching to get in here to sample the chef’s fine handywork for a couple of months now, since I dropped in for coffee and the best red velvet cake I’ve ever tasted, back in October. The place made a great first impression with it’s attentive staff, cosy decor and relaxed atmosphere (got to listen to my favourite Fleetwood Mac song pleasantly in the background too).

I did a little research in preparation for my second visit and was met with some raving reviews on their Facebook page, Trip Advisor and from various friends who had been in to try out the food. The feedback was unanimous and each one promised wonderful things from their highly attractive menu.

I’ve actually steered away from one of my favourite all time dishes of late, of course you know…the mighty ‘Eggs Benedict’. Mainly because recent recreations haven’t met my expectations. It has to be just right and I don’t make exceptions where this one is concerned. Certainly none required at Jessy’s, it was spot on. When it arrived I knew they were on to a good thing, two perfectly poached eggs and just the right egg to sauce ratio. The hollandaise was glistening and the bacon was crispy (not to mention locally sourced). All sat on top of a gently toasted muffin and finished off with some vibrant parsley. Oh and the taste…bang on with the citrus, tasty textured smokey bacon and the freshest of eggs. The plate was warm and the food was the perfect temperature. Correct on every level. 

Dan went (unsurprisingly) for the American breakfast. An interesting and varied plate consisting of eggs cooked to your liking, bacon, sausage pattie, hash brown, pancakes and maple syrup. He commented frequently how good it was and how he wanted to recreate it at home. From someone who rarely eats out through fear of disappointment, (hard to please, my husband) that speaks volumes. He’s mentioned that he wants it again already in the space of forty eight hours too. Just to add, this epic breakie also fuelled us both for the whole day until dinner time, a sign of quality ingredients cooked well.

Did I mention the coffee? It’s splendid. I like my hot drinks to be presented hot and stay so for some time. Their lattes always do and have a lovely thick and creamy froth on them. Plus, I love the taste of the actual coffee too. Top stuff indeed.

All in all, I couldn’t be more full of praise. A very valuable addition to the town. I’m already planning on taking the girls here for an evening meal for our next catch up. I have my eye on that lovely cosy table next to the log burner.

Jessy’s, 37 Denmark Street, Wokingham, RG40 2AY.              01183 484379

