20140707-182901-66541219.jpg
I’ve had my eye on this dish for quite some time now. Surprisingly for me, it doesn’t contain any meat. To be honest, after the amount of beef that I consumed yesterday, I could do with a couple of meat free days…actually, maybe just one. One thing it does contain, is lots of iron, and as an anaemic, this pleases me greatly. There is nearly a whole large bag of kale in this bad boy, thus I had to tell my kids it was green pesto in order for them to
even consider eating it. Crafty huh?

The recipe belongs to Cook.Eat.Blog., and can also be adapted by using either Carvelo Nero or Swiss Chard in the place of the kale. Originally Lee used spaghetti to make this dish, instead of penne. However, he has since posted a photograph of this variation online. I jumped on it straight away. I slightly increased the quantities to feed the four of us. The full ingredients list and cooking method can be viewed on his website here.

To make our version of this meal (serves four) you will need:
– 400g of penne
– 400g of curly kale (stems discarded)
– Five cloves of garlic (peeled)
– 70g of sliced almonds
– 3/4 of a cup of Parmigiano-Reggiano
– 1/3 of a cup of EV olive oil
– Three tablespoons of unsalted butter
– Salt and black pepper to taste

Method:
– See link above.

We were all taken aback at how good this plate tasted. It’s basically a kale pesto, with the almonds adding both a creaminess and an element of crunch to the sauce. I’m feeling very full, and a little healthy…for a change. Iron levels replenished! We’ll be eating it again.

