20140114-135305.jpg

This great little number featured on our mid-week menu shortly after the new year started, but somehow I failed to document it. Quite how I didn’t rush to put pen to paper straight after demolishing it, I don’t know. Perhaps I was too comfortable and content to move (not really an excuse when you have an iPhone), or my mind was happily preoccupied elsewhere, roaming the bustling streets of Korea for a short while. But never the less, it deserves to be shared and enjoyed.

If you recall, I mentioned a rather fabulous piece of Topside we had on Boxing Day. In truth, it actually stretched to two buffet sittings and two week day meals. A pretty good investment I’d say, all for about nine quid. That’s what you call value for money, although I guess half the battle is knowing what to do with the leftover meat. That’s where Jamie comes in with his marvellous cook book ‘Save with Jamie’ (yes folks, I’m still raving about it).

‘Korean Stir-Fried Rice’ is one of his featured recipes recommended for utilising leftover beef. As it happens, we had a little tub hiding away in the freezer, just begging to be made into this spicy, week day, pick me up dinner. It certainly put a smile on my face, then again, dishes containing eggs usually do. The full recipe and how to make it can be found in the book, or you can watch him creating it online during episode four of the series here.

To whip this one up (to serve four) you will need some leftover beef (around 200g, we had a little more), 320g of basmati rice (you can also use brown), two cloves of garlic, 150g of button mushrooms, five large eggs, two tablespoons of BBQ sauce, two tablespoons of hot chilli sauce, soy sauce, one fresh red chilli, half a Savoy cabbage, sesame oil and two tablespoons of sesame seeds (toasted).

If you already have the meat plus the basic store cupboard ingredients to hand, all you need to buy are the mushrooms, eggs and a cabbage – making it a very inexpensive every day meal (that tastes like a weekend treat). I reckon you could put it together for under four English pounds! We even freeze our chillies now and just take them out as and when needed. They appear to work just as well.

I’m not convinced that my photo has done this dish optimum justice (damn these dark evenings, and my mediocre camera skills – and camera) but I can assure you that it is vibrant in colour (I’m not big on chilli sauce, hence decided to opt out, differing from the image that accompanies the recipe in the book, which also brings a lovely redness to the plate) from the cabbage and the bright runny yolks, and big on flavour. It has a real kick to it, and you can make it as hot as you like (my husband is always fairly heavy handed with the extra chilli sauce on his meals – we get through bottles of the stuff!) It’s also multi textural too with the softness of the eggs alongside the coarseness of the cabbage. Just to add, I’m starting to become very partial to toasted sesame seeds of late, I’m on the look out for more recipes that require them!
Watch this space!

I personally find that using beef from a joint in a stir fry is always preferable to buying it pre-sliced and ready to throw in the pan. It’s so much more succulent and flavoursome, and no more time consuming, as you simply prepare it before freezing. I can’t see us ever buying beef strips again with money saving recipes like these at our fingertips. Knowledge, as they say, is king.

