20131223-063627.jpg

Sunday was a little bit of a write off this week. Now that the festivities are in full swing, the drinks are ‘a’ following and I find it’s very easy to go past the point of no return. Saturday night certainly fell into that category. I always look to food to help me get through any hangover. The full English that Dan presented me with in the morning certainly hit the spot, but come evening I was ready for my next substantial feed.

I am a huge fan of Venison, in fact we definitely don’t eat it enough for my liking. It is a little on the pricey side, but it’s a tasty meat with virtually zero fat. With that in mind, it makes for a great burger as it comes with fifty percent less guilt. Dan managed to stumble across two packs for the bargain price of just ninety nine pence each! Yes, you heard correctly. I’m sure he would have grabbed a whole load more had they not been the last two.

Still feeling delicate well into late afternoon, I was rather excited when he told me what he was compiling for our dinner – Venison burgers dressed with melted cheddar, sitting on a little lettuce (purchased for just five pence – we both have a beady eye for these reductions) and topped with crispy bacon. These were to be served with a generous portion of French fries. I could hardly wait for it to arrive. I wish you could have seen the sheer delight on my face.

It really did tick every hunger, taste and satisfaction box in existence. The meat was thick and lean, but the fat was brought back into the plate by the addition of the bacon and melted cheese, a lovely touch. All nestling in a very lightly toasted bun with a dash of tomato sauce.

20131223-063144.jpgA little tip that Dan told me about (originating from Jamie, I believe) in regards to the cheese, if you add the slices straight onto the burgers in the pan when they are cooked through, add a little hot water and cover for a couple of minutes. This this melts the cheese perfectly over the meat.

Needless to say, I went off to bed feeling pleasantly full after my mega burger experience. I think I shamefully took the concept of ‘greed’ to new levels yesterday, but sometimes, it’s the only way.

