It’s curry night. Fabulous. We have got a little carried recently with the ‘Northern Thai Chicken Curry’ recipe we discovered a few weeks ago (see earlier posts – please, please try it). Too much of a good thing and all that, so this week I vowed that we would branch out into new arenas for our Friday evening treat.

This is yet another hit discovered on www.cookeatblog.com. I’m increasingly drawn to Thai cuisine and am fairly partial to both pork mince and fresh coriander, so this seemed like an obvious choice. For some reason I had missed this recipe previously, but needless to say, I’m pleased to have stumbled upon it. The full ingredients list and cooking method can be found here:

To make this curry paste you will need: lemongrass, a shallot, birds eye chilies, coriander stalk, garlic, galangal (we used ginger), turmeric, white pepper (we used black), lime zest, kaffir lime leaves, shrimp paste, ground coriander, ground cumin, paprika and salt. It all comes together a little something like this:

20131220-202433.jpgFor the actual curry: peanut oil (we used vegetable), pork mince, coconut milk, birds eye chillies (optional – we left them out this time), fish sauce, lime juice and fresh coriander.

It’s the first time we have used our shrimp paste in a good couple of months and the smell that filled the house whilst this was cooking away was highly potent, to say the least. My other half kept assuring me that it was going to be something quite wonderful all the way through this process! He wasn’t wrong and I resisted all of the attempts to give me a pre-taster until it arrived.

This is probably the first time I have tried mince in a curry and it was a welcomed new experience. I found it to be immensely savoury/salty in a very more-ish kind of way, clearly fuelled by the shrimp paste and fish sauce. This dish sparked much conversation between my husband and I, as it took me a while to get my head around a Thai curry that was so highly flavourful and satisfying, yet didn’t include any major vegetables.

We spoke about certain ‘tweaks’ we could possibly make throughout polishing it off, my thoughts being to add some sort of veggie juiciness, and my husband’s to serve it as part of a meal with a possible accompanying salad, but by the end I resigned myself to appreciate it just as it is. A plate of spicy, savoury, creamy meatiness. I’m looking forward to the next sitting as this one is certainly a grower.

20131220-211328.jpg

