20131218-144453.jpg

It’s true, we don’t normally ‘do’ sweets. In fact, I had to create a new category on my blog just for this recipe. However, there is a time and a place for a dessert and one of them is when you’re having company over for dinner. This time I was keen to steer away from the usual chocolatey offering and go down the fruity route, particularly as I had set a Thai theme for the meal.

I did a little research into Thai desserts and I settled on this one thinking it would follow a curry very nicely, being very light on the stomach. I actually found the inspiration on a website called about.com – the recipe was provided by Thai cuisine guru Darlene Schmidt. The full ingredients list and cooking method can be found here:

I found it surprisingly quick and straight forward to put together (to my delight, as I was tight on time one again). To make this sorbet (to serve 6) you will need 2 large mangoes, a cup of white sugar (I used caster), 3 tablespoons of coconut milk, a teaspoon of lemon juice and a small tub of whipping cream (I used a 300ml carton).

Method:
– Peel and strip the mangoes of their flesh and place in a food processor (making sure you get all of the fruit from around the stone).
– Add the cup of sugar and blitz for a minute until you have a purée.
– Add the coconut milk and lemon juice then blitz again for a few seconds to combine it all.
– Scrape the mixture into a bowl and set to one side.
– Pour the whipping cream into the blender and blitz until thickened (forming stiff peaks).
– Add the purée back into the cream and whizz it up for around 10 seconds until well combined.
– Pour into a tub (I used a medium sized Tupperware box – see photo) and pop it into the freezer for eight hours (you can possibly get away with six, but I found that after that amount of time it wasn’t all fully set).

20131218-143452.jpgI served this dessert simply on its own, although I’m sure a little sliced mango on top would be a nice touch if desired. I can only describe it as a bowl of refreshing creaminess! The taste of the fruit really came through as I decided to leave all of the mango fibres in the sorbet, rather then sieving them out. I find this also brings a welcomed, extra texture.

If you’re cooking a curry (Thai, Indian, Sri Lankan – any will work) or a similar spicy dish that is likely to fill you up, this really is the pudding to go for. It delicately cleanses the palate, and best of all, you can make it days or weeks in advance, getting it out of the freezer just half an hour or so before serving is required. A sweet little treat indeed. It went down a storm.

