This week we were tasked with filling a paper plate full of ‘homemade’ goodies by my daughter’s school. This is to be our delicious (hopefully) culinary offering for the annual Christmas Fair on Friday. Now that it’s officially December and we are on the count down, I’m actually really looking forward to getting into the festive spirit while sipping some warming mulled wine and mooching around the various food stalls. Anything that involves food and drink will always get my vote. It’s also a great chance to have a natter with the other parents while the kids run around, having eaten far too much sugar. Well, I suppose it is nearly Christmas.

Sunday afternoon we set about meeting this challenge. Now, what would be the most straightforward and cost effective option I thought to myself – it had to be cookies (I’m quite partial to eating them too of course, knowing full well there would be leftovers). So, the baking fest commenced and it was a collaborative team effort, led by my husband and closely followed by my daughter. In truth, my nineteenth month old son merely watched and whined a little, and I scurried about clearing up as the kitchen descended into ‘looking like a bomb’s hit it’ territory.

We went for a previously tested, fail safe ‘Chocolate Chip Cookie’ recipe from Nigella Lawson, featured in her brilliant book ‘Kitchen’. The full ingredients list and cooking method can be found there. However, you will need: soft unsalted butter, light brown sugar, caster sugar, vanilla extract, 1 egg (from fridge), 1 egg yolk (from fridge), flour, bicarbonate of soda and milk chocolate chips.

Eleanor loves getting involved with mixing up all of the dry ingredients. It’s a very easy recipe for kids to enjoy, and they don’t have to wait very long to see the end results. I am always guaranteed to hear ‘Are they ready yet Mummy?!’

20131203-140054.jpgWe decided to deviate slightly from the recipe by adding both milk and white chocolate, as we like the extra sweetness that the white brings (very indulgent). Plus, we like to buy the chocolate in bars (two 100g bars of milk and one 100g bar of white) and bash it up into small chunks in a freezer bag ourselves, as we prefer larger pieces of chocolate in our cookies (it’s also a great stress reliever after a hard week, I highly recommend it!) The end result is this:

20131203-140153.jpgThese chunks sit very nicely in the doughy mixture:

20131203-140352.jpgAfter around 15 minutes in a pre-heated oven, they came out slightly golden, chewy and very moist. Trust me, you can take one of these cookies, sit down with a good cup of tea and be whisked away to heaven for the next five minutes (or however long it takes you to devour its lushness). My children love them, and so do I. The way we make them, they are around 40 percent chocolate, and to me, this is no bad thing. I don’t like to look for the chips in my cookie, I like them to jump out at me in every bite.

I think it’s fair to say, that whoever is lucky enough to buy these little beauties on Friday, will not be disappointed. Nice one Nigella.

20131203-141218.jpg

