It’s Sunday morning…coffee in one hand and a paper in the other. My husband is busying himself in the kitchen while I nurse a semi-hangover. There is a waft of cumin and coriander in the air and the distinct sound of eggs frying. It can only mean one thing…Huevos Rancheros.

This was the brunch dish that I originally met with some skepticism (I don’t tend to go mad over chilli in breakfast dishes, it’s slightly too early for me to deal with a spice hit), however, it now fills me with sheer delight. It’s one of those meals that I don’t tend to crave, but when I’m eating it, that’s a different story. With each bite I wonder why I ever doubted it.

The original recipe and cooking method we followed can be found in Rick Stein’s ‘Coast to Coast’ book.

Today we favoured corn tortillas over the standard variety, which brought a sweetness to the plate. You will also need four eggs, a finely chopped onion, four cloves of finely chopped garlic, half a teaspoon of cumin, a tin of plum tomatoes, a teaspoon of lime juice, a tablespoon of finely chopped fresh coriander, extra mature grated cheddar and seasoning. Rick also adds fresh chillies but we opted for a few drops of Hot Sauce.

I can already feel my headache lifting. Right now, if I wasn’t already married…I’d marry my husband all over again.

20131110-121907.jpg

