Tonight I was whisked away to the bustling, busy streets of Marrakech…or at least I was when I closed my eyes and sunk my teeth into this hugely gratifying kebab. Such a treat for a Wednesday night, it has left me feeling happy, content and deeply satisfied all at once. You can’t ask for much more than that from a meal that cost under a fiver, can you?

This dish was adapted from Jamie Oliver’s ‘Kefta’ recipe which can be found in his book ‘Jamie Does’ or at jamieoliver.com. Kefta is actually a Moroccan word for ‘meatball’ and this recipe is a fantastic way to utilise lamb mince if you’re looking to cook up something a little different (and highly pleasing) that isn’t one of the usual ‘Moussaka’ and ‘Shepherd’s Pie’ suppers.

I’ve been out bargain hunting again, so I managed to pick the mince up for just £1.55 (500g), making this an inexpensive week day ‘pick me up’. To make the Keftas you will also need a red onion, ground cumin, ground coriander, paprika, fresh ginger, fresh coriander and seasoning.

The mixture should look something similar to:

20131107-112323.jpgWe managed to get 18 meatballs out of this which we popped into the fridge for half an hour before pan frying (top tip – slapping the meat against the bowl when at shaping stage really tenderises it well):

20131107-112601.jpgJamie’s accompaniment is a salad of finely sliced red onion and a couple of handfuls of halved cherry tomatoes tossed in the juice of half a lemon, and a generous splash of extra virgin olive oil. This isn’t in the recipe, but we added a decent sprinkling of Sumac too as it works in perfect harmony to enhance the flavour of the lamb. We left it to marinade at room temperature for around 30 minutes, and it was delicious. Sweet and tangy.

The meatballs will need around 7-10 minutes in a pan until you can see a slight charring, then you’re ready to rock ‘n’roll. We served them with the salad inside lightly toasted wholemeal pittas (instead of flatbreads), with simple lettuce leaves and a good helping of Houmous on the side, purely as we already had it to hand (Jamie recommends Greek yoghurt and Harissa – perhaps we will give that a go next time – and there will certainly be a next time!)

I think its safe to say, I don’t think I’m ever going to another kebab shop again. Ever.

20131107-114317.jpg

